A la Croisée des Mondes
Philip Pullman

Sraf Network




Follow Twittagazze on Twitter


menuAccueil Forum Encyclopaedia Tchat F.A.Q Meeting menu Flux RSS menu
His Dark Materials, the BBC series
      In 2015, BBC One commissioned the production company BadWolf for a TV adaptation of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials.

Founded by former BBC producers Jane Tranter and Julie Gardner (Doctor Who), Bad Wolf teams for this project with HBO (who owns international rights outside of the UK) but also wirh Scholastic (Deborah Forte) and New Line Cinema (Toby Emmerich & Carolyn Blackwood), both involved in Chris Weitz's The Golden Compass en 2007, already based on the first book in Philip Pullman's trilogy. The author will also act as executive producer of the show.

Jack Thorne, co-writer of the stageplay Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, was named in 2016 as scriptwriter. In early 2017, as Bad Wolf uploaded on its Twitter account two pics of his script for the series' first episode, the title was clearly visible: "Roger".

The shooting of series one started at the end of June 2018 atWolf Studios, Cardiff, Wales while additional scenes were filmed in Oxford in the first days of July 2018 and many others in various places in Wales.

The series is expected to be a five-series show of 8 episodes each. Each episode will be 1-hour long.
The confirmation of season 2 was revealed by the BBC director general Lord Tony Hall during a Parliament Committee hearing on September 11, 2018.

Dafne Keen (Lyra), Lin-Manuel Miranda (Lee), James McAvoy (Asriel) and Ruth Wilson (Mrs. Coulter) will play in the series.
Tom Hooper (A King's Speech) will direct the first two episodes, followed by Dawn Shadforth, Otto Bathurst, Euros Lyn and Jamie Childsfor the next six.

   Confirmed news :.

  • Press release: series is commissioned - English | French translation (by Cittàgazze)
  • Press release: Jack Thorne apointed as scriptwriter - English | French Translation (by Cittàgazze)
  • Press: Jack Thorne apointed as scriptwrtier: English | French translation (by Cittàgazze)
  • Press: 5 series and 40 episodes for His Dark Materials - English .
  • Press release: cast and crew (27/07/18) - Anglais | French translation (by Cittàgazze)
  • Press: HBO boarding the series (12/09/18)

  •    Pictures :.

  • The team
  • The set
  • Filming
  • More coming soon...

       Links :.

  • All our news on Cittàgazze
  • The official Twitter account of the series
  • The official Instagram account of the series
  • Bad Wolf's website

  •    Crew :.

    Reference for each name is linked to the symbol *

  • Actors:
       Lyra: Dafne Keen *
       Pantalaimon: Archie Barnes *

       Lee Scoresby: Lin-Manuel Miranda *
       Lord Asriel: James McAvoy *
       Marisa Coulter: Ruth Wilson *
       Serafina Pekkala: Ruta Gedmintas *
       Dr. Carne/The Master: Clarke Peters *
       Dr. Lanselius: Omid Djalili *
       Lord Boreal: Ariyon Bakare *
       Sub-rector: Philip Goldacre *
       Father McPhail: Will Keen *
       Fra Pavel: Frank Bourke *
       Charles: Ian Gelder *
       Adele Starminster: Georgina Campbell *
       Ma Costa: Anne-Marie Duff *
       Farder Coram: James Cosmo *
       John Faa: Lucien Msamati *
       Raymond Van Geritt: Mat Fraser *
       Jack Verhoeven: Geoff Bell *
       Benjamin de Ruyter: Simon Manyonda *
       Roger Parslow: Lewin Lloyd *
       Tony Costa: Daniel Frogson *
       Billy Costa: Tyler Howitt *
       Scholar: Joakim Skarli *

  • Directors:
       Tom Hooper (S1E1/S1E2) *
       Dawn Shadforth (S1E3) *
       Otto Bathurst (S1E4/S1E5) *
       Euros Lyn (S1E6) *
       Jamie Childs (S1E7/S1E8) *
  • Directors of photography:
       Justin Brown (S1E1)*
       Suzie Lavelle (S1E3) *
       David Luther (S1E5) *
       David Higgs (S1E7/S1E8) *
  • Scriptwriter: Jack Thorne *
  • Casting: Kathleen Crawford*
  • Production designer: Joel Collins *
  • Location Manager: Gareth Skelding *
  • Costumes: Caroline McCall *
  • Hair and make-up: Pamela Haddock *
  • VFX: Framestore *
  • Executive Producers:
       Philip Pullman *
       Julie Gardner (BadWolf)*
       Jane Tranter (BadWolf)*
       Toby Emmerich (New Line Cinema)*
       Carolyn Blackwood (New Line Cinema)*
       Bethan Jones (BBC One) *
       Deborah Forte (Scholastic)*
       Dan McCulloch *

    Last update: 03/10/2018

  •   publicité